OOTD: Instagram roundup May 2013

Lately I’ve gone on a shortening spree, cropping thrifted skirts to the appropriate length on me. Often, skirts that are tea length or maxi generally hit me somewhere below the knee to mid-calf and it’s not cute. So, I busted out the rotary cutter and raised the hemlines on these skirts to skim the tops of my knees.

Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Forever 21+ mint green polka dot top, thrifted pink skirt

Outfit details

  • Forever 21 mint green polka dot shirt, 3x, about $11
  • Hot pink jersey skirt with pockets, no tag, thrifted

Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Thrifted red check circle skirt and Torrid black lace bustier

Outfit details

  • Torrid black lace bustier, 4x, additional 50 percent off clearance
  • Torrid bird clasp stretch belt, 3x, additional 50 percent off clearance
  • Red and black check circle skirt, no tag, thrifted

Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Thrifted navy dress with silver sequins and rain jacket

Outfit details

  • Rain jacket, 3x, thrifted
  • Navy blue tank dress with silver sequins, no tag, thrifted
  • Re/Dress red teggings, one size, $20

And while I’ve been editing my thrifted skirts, I’ve also been making skirts from scratch. I made this multicolor plaid half-circle skirt from vintage fabric. A resale shop in Pilsen acquired an armoir full of vintage fabrics from a local seamstress, and I snapped up some excellent patterns.

Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Torrid purple bird shirt with plaid circle skirt homemade from vintage fabric

Outfit details

  • Torrid purple bird applique top, 2x, $5 on additional 50 percent off clearance
  • Plaid skirt handmade by me

I also scored this heart-print, half-circle skirt from Domino Dollhouse during their additional 50 percent off clearance event. I paired it with a thrifted sheer white blouse with a black ribbon bow and white boots.

Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Domino Dollhouse heart print skirt

As summer draws near, I’ve been dreaming of days at the beach and new swimwear, of course. These retro inspired styles are from Forever 21+ and Walmart. Read more about my quest for the perfect fat grrl bikini here.

Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Forever 21 Leopard Print plus size bikini
Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Walmart red and white polka dot print plus size swimsuit
Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Walmart Anchor print plus size bikini

Summer in Chicago also means lots and lots of biking. I was able to spend some time on the Lake Front Trail the other day and bask in the warm glow of the beach. I absolutely adore my hot pink bike.
Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images Torrid black pencil skirt, Alloy gray V-neck shirt with embellished back and pink bike

Outfit details

  • Alloy gray V-neck shirt, 3x, $9.99
  • Torrid black pencil skirt, size 26, additional 50 percent off clearance

I’m not really a fan of orange, but I couldn’t pass up this sherbet combination of dots on dots:

Photo: Instagram OOTD Roundup April/May 2013 Photo Source: Google Images White shirt with orange polka dots and orange cardigan with white polka dots

Outfit details

Follow me on Instagram for my latest raw photos from the wild.

2 responses to “OOTD: Instagram roundup May 2013

Commenting is so in right now. Leave your fashionable feedback below:

