OOTD: Vintage skirt circle skirt and newsprint nails

For Queerer Park, a dance party at Beauty Bar Chicago, I paired a bustier with a thrifted vintage circle skirt:

Photo: Queerer Park Spring Cleanin' May 2013 at Beauty Bar Chicago Photo source: Google Images, Glitter Guts OOTD Thrifted red check circle skirt and Torrid black lace bustier

Outfit details

  • Torrid black lace bustier, 4x, additional 50 percent off clearance
  • Torrid bird clasp stretch belt, 3x, additional 50 percent off clearance
  • Red and black check circle skirt, no tag, thrifted
  • EyeBuyDirect.com Rock! Peggy cat eye glasses in black, $55
  • Payless black pointy toe flats, size 11, $7

Lately I’ve gone on a shortening spree, cropping thrifted skirts to the appropriate length on me. Often, skirts that are tea length or maxi generally hit me somewhere below the knee to mid-calf and it’s not cute. So, I busted out the rotary cutter and raised the hemlines on this skirt to skim the tops of my knees.

I did my nails the night before, using a copy of the Chicago Reader to create these newsprint nails. I tore out part of a section about Chicago Pride, clipped it to fit my nail shape and applied lots and lots of topcoat.

Photo: Queerer Park Spring Cleanin' May 2013 at Beauty Bar Chicago Photo source: Google Images, Glitter Guts newsprint nails

This dance party benefitted T.G.I.F., Chicago’s transgender, gender-nonconforming, and intersex pride. Some of my favorite shots from the night, courtesy of Glitter Guts photo booth, are below:

Photo: Queerer Park Spring Cleanin' May 2013 at Beauty Bar Chicago Photo source: Google Images, Glitter Guts Me and Jackie smooch kiss
Photo: Queerer Park Spring Cleanin' May 2013 at Beauty Bar Chicago Photo source: Google Images, Glitter Guts Me and Jackie posed
Photo: Queerer Park Spring Cleanin' May 2013 at Beauty Bar Chicago Photo source: Google Images, Glitter Guts Me and RI smooch kiss with Emily and Kristen
Photo: Queerer Park Spring Cleanin' May 2013 at Beauty Bar Chicago Photo source: Google Images, Glitter Guts Group photo with CT

Follow me on Instagram for my latest raw photos from the wild.

Commenting is so in right now. Leave your fashionable feedback below:

