I wrote about fat positivity for Thought Catalog, and people have a lot of feelings about it

pngIf you don’t already keep up with Thought Catalog, I encourage you to take a gander at something I wrote for them the other day called “I Will Not Apologize For My Body Anymore.” Go ahead and read it, I’ll still be here when you get back.

I originally wrote that piece a while back. In fact, it was my first post on Plump Pinup Life & Style, and it explains why I started this blog and briefly chronicles my journey to self love. Here’s an excerpt:

I recently started a fashion blog called Plump Pinup Life & Style, but it took me years to work up the courage to start it. I was outraged when I first read a fat positive blog: Who did this blogger think she was suggesting it was okay to be fat? TO BE BLATANTLY FAT? To be so brazenly unhealthy? Being fat is quite possibly the worst thing a woman can be. Fat is undesirable to men, so a fat woman is consequently worthless.

Since the Thought Catalog post, I’ve received quite a few encouraging emails and messages from people who found my story to be positive and helpful. It’s really only been a flurry of love mail actually, over here in Plump Pinup land.

Of course, I’m not really looking at the comments on Thought Catalog. Okay, so maybe a peaked a little bit, but whatever. I’ve watched this Lindy West video on fat-shamers and other internet trolls, so I was prepared:

And I’ve read “How to Fuck a Fat Woman” by Kate Harding, an excerpt from Yes Means Yes!: Visions of Female Sexual Power and a World Without Rape. Long story short, people on the internet can be very cruel, especially to fat women.

I’m not exactly offended by uneducated, glittering generalities like “she clearly never exercises” or “she’s dangerously glorifying obesity” or “she’s so fat, so what she writes is stupid/invalid/wrong/etc.” written by people who know nothing about me. If I was, I couldn’t be a blogger. It takes a lot more to get under my thick skin.

At any rate, I appreciate the positive feedback and love hearing from all of you. I’m glad people have found something of value in the things I publish. After all, another blog post is just another opportunity to glorify obesity.

Follow me on Instagram for my latest raw photos from the wild.

One response to “I wrote about fat positivity for Thought Catalog, and people have a lot of feelings about it

  1. Pingback: Mailbag: Responses to my body positivity blog on Thought Catalog | Plump Pinup Life & Style·

Commenting is so in right now. Leave your fashionable feedback below:

