OOTD: Test driving retro-style swimwear at the beach

I’m not a big fan of Independence Day. I mean, I like fireworks and cookouts and swimming and holidays, but I’m not exactly thrilled by American imperialism and what we tout as democracy. The U.S. declaring independence from Britain was not some heroic, laudable act — a bunch of wealthy, white men who stole land from native people of color decided they were tired of a wealthier white man bossing them around and claiming he actually owned the land that belonged to native people of color, then started a war about it. This isn’t exactly something new or something to celebrate.

But one of my friends was born on July 4, so I decided to celebrate Jackie Day instead. And we started off at the beach, in full fat femme Amazon dyke glory:

Photo: 4th of July at the beach for Jackie's birthday. Photo Source: Google Images, Anita Butch Me and Jackie in matching pinup bathing suits
We’re both rocking the Catalina shirred one-piece swimsuit from Walmart ($35, up to a size 3x). I’m in red with white polka dots and Jackie has on a cute cherry print. The swimsuit is touted as “slimming,” and comes in a variety of colors and patterns.

I often have problems wearing one-piece swimsuits because I’m very tall and have a long torso, but this one-piece actually fit quite nicely and looks super cute. I just wish it had more bust support. Upon lamenting this at the beach, a friend explained she wears a regular strapless bra under her swimsuit and it works wonders. I tried this for my last trip to the beach, and my bust looked beautiful and I had no nip slip issues. I would just wear an older bra in case chlorine fades it or of other mishaps.

I really, really wanted to rock a bikini, but I didn’t feel right in them. The proportion of the suits is much different on me than the models, and at a size 24/26 with a long torso and big belly, I think I really need a larger size (and probably much more expensive) bathing suit to really feel comfortable in a bikini.

Later, we ended up grilling with some friends, and I had amazing vegan hot dogs, and then watched the fireworks over the beach before heading to a dance party.

Photo: 4th of July at the beach for Jackie's birthday. Photo Source: Google Images, Anita Butch Fireworks over Chicago Beach Red
Photo: 4th of July at the beach for Jackie's birthday. Photo Source: Google Images, Anita Butch Fireworks over Chicago
Photo: 4th of July at the beach for Jackie's birthday. Photo Source: Google Images, Anita Butch Fireworks over Chicago Beach Green
Follow me on Instagram for my latest raw photos from the wild.

One response to “OOTD: Test driving retro-style swimwear at the beach

  1. Pingback: OOTD: Instagram Roundup July 2013 | Plump Pinup Life & Style·

Commenting is so in right now. Leave your fashionable feedback below:

