Photos from the runway show for my body positive line of bras

 Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 4 Group shot of models and the designer Anita Butch featuring disco bras, studded bra, rhinestone bras and galaxy bra

I debuted my couture collection of bras for all bodies in a runway show at Salonathon at Beauty Bar Chicago on Feb. 25, as a part of the LEX·IC·A fashion showcase, and I couldn’t be more pleased with the runway show.

I’ve long been an enthusiast underwear as outerwear. I wear bed jackets like cardigans and négligées as dresses. But my most popular pieces are the bras I wear as shirts. I usually pick up a cheap bra and then either embellish it, reupholster it or dismantle it all together to create a unique item that I’d never want to cover up. I generally pair them with a high-waisted skirt and sometimes a jacket of some sort. Like this:

Photo: Wearing the gold disco bra with rhinestones to Rumble Arts Center. Photo credit: Google Images

I’ve accumulated quite a few of these pieces, and I couldn’t wait to show them off. I had a diversity of models who were willing to boldly bare my bras on a week’s notice. While some of the models were a bit hesitant to show so much skin, they loved wearing my creations and being empowered  by feeling sexy in the (im)perfect body they have.

Curated by JRV MAJESTY Productions, LEX·IC·A spread collaborative wings for February, exploring daily expressions of hairography, looks, styles and the art of street fashion, featuring runway shows, performances and beats by:

Here are some of my favorite shots from the night. The full set is on the Plump Pinup Life & Style Facebook page, and most of the looks are available in my Etsy store. (Pssst! Use the code GRANDOPENING to take 10 percent off your purchase.)

Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 1 Elaine pink disco bra Lane Bryant Cacique plunge bra
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 2 Cassandra gold disco bra torrid longline bra with rhinestones
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 3 Danelle in red fringe bra with silver sequin trim and red shimmy belt for burlesque Torrid plunge bra
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 5 Wes wearing the disco bra inspired by Lady Gaga bear wearing a disco ball
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 6 Elaine runway walk pink disco bra Lane Bryant Cacique plunge bra
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 8 Cassandra runway shot gold disco bra torrid longline bra with rhinestones
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 7 Zoe runway shot snowflake bra white lace Lane Bryant Cacique plunge bra
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 9 Runway finale Ri, Darling Shear, Zoe, Danielle, in studded bra, seashell bra, and snowflake bra
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 10 Runway finale Lex in studded bra dressed masculinely
Photo: Salonathon Lexica at Beauty Bar Chicago Fashion Show Bras as shirts for plus size fat people Photo Source: Google Images 11 Runway finale Me explaining the bras and pointing to Cassie in the galaxy bra

UPDATE: And now there’s video of the show!

Follow me on Instagram for my latest raw photos from the wild.

9 responses to “Photos from the runway show for my body positive line of bras

  1. Pingback: Sunday links, 3/4/13 | Tutus And Tiny Hats·

  2. Pingback: Video of my body positive line of bras runway show | Plump Pinup Life & Style·

  3. Oh wow, these are just fantastic! My favourite is the gold longline one, though the red fringed affair is rather gorgeous too.

    It makes me so happy seeing such a diverse cat walk! :)

    • Thank you! I’m glad you like them. I worked really hard on them. I wish I had more larger models, but I’m really pleased with what came together in about a week. All of my models were enthusiastic about the project, and that’s what’s important.

  4. Pingback: On modeling and creating unreal images (with new photos from my fat positive line of bras) | Plump Pinup Life & Style·

Commenting is so in right now. Leave your fashionable feedback below:

