OOTD: Queerer Park dance party and studded bra tutorial

The first time I wore a bra as a shirt, it was a black vintage-style longline bra from Torrid. I paired it with a black pencil skirt and black lace bolero and headed out to Heavy Rotation, a body positive dance party on the Northside. I was anxious about going out sans shirt, but after dancing the night away in a bra, I was smitten.

Finding a beautiful bra for a plus size figure is no small task: While there are a few retailers who offer a limited selection of fashionable and functional undergarments, they still tend to be pricey and lackluster. So, I do pick up a fancy bra here and there on clearance, but mostly I buy plain bras and embellish them, like the studded bra below:

Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 1 Photo source: Google Images finished studded bra 44D silver spikes
Ever since I saw Lady Gaga rocking studs in her “Telephone” video, I knew I had to make this bra. I sourced the studs and spikes on eBay for a couple of bucks and thrifted the bra new with tags for $2.50.

Photo: Lady Gaga's studded bra from the "Telephone" video. Photo Source: Google Images, LadyGagaDIY.com

Lady Gaga in the “Telephone” video, the inspiration for my studded bra. | LadyGagaDIY.com

Studs seem intimidating, but I found them fairly easy to work with once I got the hang of them. I just turned on some of my favorite trashy TV shows and went to work. To insert the spikes, I poked a small hole with a leather rotary punch and screwed them in. The studs have small prongs on the back that easily fold in place with some small jewelry pliers. A few hours later, I had a bitchin’ bra. I even put some studs on my black booties:

Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 2 Photo source: Google Images studded black booties ankle boots
For Queerer Park, a dance party at Beauty Bar Chicago, I paired my studded bra with some studded epaulets on a black blazer and a black sequin skirt.

Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 4 Photo source: Google Images posed full body ootd

Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 5 Photo source: Google Images posed close up ootd

Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 6 Photo source: Google Images posed close up ootd spiked and studded epaulets
Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 8 Photo source: Google Images Up close face with studded epaulets silver spikes

Outfit details

Generally, I try to avoid wearing all black. All too often, fatties try to hide in “ultra-slimming” black, and I don’t want to hide anymore. At one point, over half of my wardrobe was black because I thought that was the only color I could wear. So now that I’ve gained confidence in myself and my style, I generally don’t wear black unless it really makes a statement.

I topped off this look with simple red lipstick, black winged eyeliner and a sweep of mascara. And I went Winehouse on my hair, sweeping it into a beehive on the top of my head and securing a bandana around it.

Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 7 Photo source: Google Images Ri and I posing high school dance style
Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 3 Photo source: Google Images posed photo with Eric and Wes beard goodness
Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 9 Photo source: Google Images, A/S/L Media Queerer Park Beauty Bar photo booth posed
Photo: Queerer Park OOTD black studded bra 10 Photo source: Google Images, A/S/L Media Queerer Park Beauty Bar photo booth kiss Ri's cheek.

Follow me on Instagram for my latest raw photos from the wild.

2 responses to “OOTD: Queerer Park dance party and studded bra tutorial

  1. Because it takes the assumption that if more people are turning to graphic design as the solution to their financial problems.
    Secondly, the technique doesn’t incorporate research into possible long-tail key words are phrases constituting at least 4 or preferentially more separate words.

Commenting is so in right now. Leave your fashionable feedback below:

