OOTD: QUEER AMP featuring The Recruitment, Swimsuit Addition, and The Moses Gun

Photo: Queer Amp at Quenchers bar and saloon logo. An amp with an inverted pink triangle on it. Photo source: Google Images, Queer AmpI was lucky enough to attend the January edition of QUEER AMP, a music performance night dedicated to the LGBT Community. Hosted by Quenchers Saloon every second Thursday of the month, QUEER AMP showcases some of the best local LGBT artists in Chicago. January featured band performances by The Recruitment, Swimsuit Addition, and The Moses Gun.

I was there with some awesome friends, and we were all wearing some awesome clothes:

Photo: The Lady Anita Butch, a fat white woman with red hair and cat eye glasses wearing a pink shirt, green cardigan with white polka dots and a black pencil skirt with white polka dots. Hello Kitty 3D iPhone case in pink and green. At Queer Amp at Quenchers. Photo source: Google Images, Jessica Neria Photography

The best-dressed crew at QUEER AMP | Jessica Neria

Photo: The Lady Anita Butch, a fat white woman with red hair and cat eye glasses wearing a pink shirt, green cardigan with white polka dots and a black pencil skirt with white polka dots. Hello Kitty 3D iPhone case in pink and green. At Queer Amp at Quenchers. Photo source: Google Images, Jessica Neria Photography

Slow dancing for the camera at QUEER AMP | Jessica Neria

I love mixing bold colors and prints unexpectedly, so donned a pink and green polka dot ensemble. I’m kinda like the femme Tim Gunn, and I always make it work.

Outfit details

Through some creative fiscal phanagling, I recently acquired an iPhone. I got my first smart phone about a year ago, and the cheapie Droid I had just wasn’t cutting it. I couldn’t effectively manage my work and life with that phone, so I finally upgraded. And I got this adorable 3-D Hello Kitty iPhone case in pink and green:

Photo: The Lady Anita Butch, a fat white woman with red hair and cat eye glasses wearing a pink shirt, green cardigan with white polka dots and a black pencil skirt with white polka dots. Hello Kitty 3D iPhone case in pink and green. At Queer Amp at Quenchers. Photo source: Google Images, Jessica Neria Photography

My new Hello Kitty iPhone case. I’m accidentally dressed to match my phone. | Jessica Neria

Photo: The Lady Anita Butch, a fat white woman with red hair and cat eye glasses wearing a pink shirt, green cardigan with white polka dots and a black pencil skirt with white polka dots. Hello Kitty 3D iPhone case in pink and green. At Queer Amp at Quenchers. Photo source: Google Images, Jessica Neria Photography

Posing with Hello Kitty and a friend at QUEER AMP | Jessica Neria

I’ve gotten quite a few reactions to my new Hello Kitty phone, and they are fairly polarized: Everyone pretty much agrees it’s ridiculous, but they’re split on whether it’s ridiculously awesome or ridiculously too much. I’m a maximalist who thinks there’s no such thing as “too much.” More is more, people.

Anyway, the night wasn’t all about my new phone or my rockin’ outfit — some bands played, too. Here are some photos of them:

Photo: The Recruitment playing at Queer Amp at Quenchers. Photo source: Google Images, Jessica Neria Photography

The Recruitment converting the crowd to the homosexual lifestyle | Jessica Neria

Photo: Swimsuit Addition playing at Queer Amp at Quenchers. Photo source: Google Images, Jessica Neria Photography

Swimsuit Addition: kinda like Bikini Kill, but with more math  | Jessica Neria

Photo: The Moses Gun playing at Queer Amp at Quenchers. Photo source: Google Images, Jessica Neria Photography

The Moses Gun playing all the jams. | Jessica Neria

Follow me on Instagram for my latest raw photos from the wild.

One response to “OOTD: QUEER AMP featuring The Recruitment, Swimsuit Addition, and The Moses Gun

  1. Pingback: Day 61- Your OOTD | Nizy's Life Compendium·

Commenting is so in right now. Leave your fashionable feedback below:

